Drink Up! the diet plan

The other day I spent a while talking about T. and I and our mutual learning curve.  During that post I mentioned my new diet and said I tell you more later.  Well now is later.

Many years ago right after I finished college and started to work, I began to experience a weight gain that before I knew it was completely out of control.  One day while walking down the sidewalk, I glanced at my profile in a store window and realized I was able to see my stomach pushing out in front of me.  That day I went down to the grocery store and bought a case of Metrecal, a liquid diet drink that was popular at the time.  My weight had reached 195 lbs and that was it.  I drank Metrecal four times a day for the next month and every time I walked by that window I checked my reflection until the stomach was gone.  My weight moved back to 170 lbs.

I could do that then because I was young and really angry at myself for getting into such a condition.  So it didn’t surprise me a couple of weeks ago, when I found that now, some 30 years later I had reached the stomach proceeding stage again, to find my mind remembering that first diet. 

Two weeks ago I implemented a new version of that old plan.  Once a day I eat a full meal.  And by that I mean, if it’s breakfast, bacon & eggs, toast, coffee, OJ, even pancakes on the side.  The rest of the day I drink 5 cans of 180 calorie Slim-Fast Optima drink and any liquids – iced tea, water, coffee, milk, Pepsi that I want.   If the meal happens to be lunch then a home-made cheeseburger, large salad, two side veggies, and bread.   And just like before, the rest of the day is liquid.  As much as I want as often as I want. 

Several things I have noticed already.  One, I can pick the meal so that it coincides with eating with T. or if I have already eaten my meal for the day, I can still eat with her by just having soup.  Thank you Volumetrics.  It has been two weeks, and I have lost 14 lbs so far and I feel good and light.  By the way, the diet described above is mine.  I set it up for me because I know I can do it.  If by any chance you decide to try it, please check with your doctor first and pay attention to any side effects that mean it is not working.

1 Comment »

  1. […] scent, of pumpkin or apple, fills the room.  So this year I find myself rather eager to see how my Drink Up plan stands the test.  I like the idea that I have already started developing a habit of eating one […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

