Eating at home . . .

is becoming more and more attractive.  I just finished a great meal.  Home cooked pot roast with tomatoes, carrots, small red potatoes and a whole yellow onion, med. size, all of it salt and peppered to taste.  Took me about 15 minutes to assemble and then 5 great hours while the crock pot scented the house and I worked on the computer. 

I have been thinking about how I use time lately, and its costs and rewards.   The cost of this dish which provided six full meals over a four day period was $4.67 for the roast, $1.00 for the potatoes, $.79 for a can of whole tomatoes, $.50 worth of carrots, six cups of water, $.50 for the onion, and add the time it took to prepare, 15 min. at $20 an hour, that comes to $12.46 total or $2.07 a meal.  If I bought a comparable meal from the grocery store, three Healthy Choice Steam meals, $3.oo ea. the cost would be $9.00, plus tax, Three sandwiches, $11.25 plus tax and soup with each meal, $2.00 a cup, $12.00, that’s $32.25 plus tax.  Homecooking = A savings of $19.79.   Plus, by simply adding two slices of sourdough bread, mayo light, & Gulden’s yellow mustard, three of the meals became roast beef sandwichs and hot veggie soup.  All of the meals were large enough to actually feed two people if you added a salad. 

The best part for me was that the soup and the roast tasted better and better as they recooked.  I use a pot for that and simmer them the old fashion way on a stove top.  That way I get to stir and taste while it reheats and I read the new mystery novel by Dick Lochte called Croaked.

Now all I’d like to do is find out if it is possible to calculate the calories in these meals?

Leave a Reply

