Another List, or two

I love to make lists:

  • books I want to read
  • authors I want to read more of
  • bike rides I want to take
  • bike rides I want to take again and again

I love to make lists and then go back and check things off.  It feels like I am being so productive and actually I am.  I need to make lists in order to be productive otherwise even though I do things somehow I don’t count them unless they were on a list somewhere.  So sometimes I’ll go back and add them to a previous list as a sub-category.  That way my personal adding-up-the-work machine gives me credit and I can feel all organized and, like I said, productive.

Another thing about making lists is that I can use them to get somewhere in my thinking and then somewhere in my doing.  A list can start out randomly:

take time to read, go for a run, do the bills, set up the calendar for next month, research the difference between a 401k, a Roth IRA, and an IRA., work on the Corp stuff . . .

Then I can work the list into a time or a priority framework: 

  1. set up the calendar for next month
  2. go for a run
  3. work on the Corp stuff
  4. take time to read
  5. research the difference between/amongst a 401k, Roth IRA, and an IRA
  6. do the bills

Once I’ve taken a list this far, I usually let it jell while I start on item #1.  Oh yeah, I should add that I may start this whole process by going back to previous lists to make sure everything got checked off.  If something is still undone, I like to think about why that happened.  (Like most humans, I am pretty good at procrastinating.)  And if it’s still important, I’ll add it to the new list.

Listing is also an excellent way to work out my thoughts when I am writing.  This is especially useful when I am trying to describe some object or event without using the same old . . .

Same, familiar, familiar idea, repeat reference, . . .

Old, not new, rusty, dusty, tired, lifeless,

without using the rusty, dusty, tired phrasing of old.

So now it’s time to put together a list for real.

  1. Write a post a day
  2. Work at least an hour a day on the Corp and Real Estate businesses
  3. Ride my bike out into the beautiful California sunshine and up hill and down dale remembering that line from Anyone lived in a pretty how town by ee cummings
  4. Research how to blog better on the internet
  5. Be home when T. gets home so that we can spend more and more time together
  6. Read those library books
  7. Stay calm during “getmass”

Meanwhile, here are some lifehacks you might enjoy:

  • J.D. at getrichslowly wrote of his inner conflict while reviewing his friend’s new book on personal finance.
  • If you’re as puzzled as I about this coming election, maybe this cute calculator can help you out.
  • And finally, at Millionaire Mommy, after polling her readers, she posts some excellent referrents with which to connect up with the personal finance community on-line.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

